November 14, 2018 A delegation of school administrators from the Republic of Uganda paid a visit to the Area 31 Career Center at Ben Davis High School earlier this month. Following their attendance at the Indianapolis-based Kappa Delta Pi “Designing

With presenting sponsorship by Johnson-Melloh, “Science Claus is Coming to Town” will now be free to the public. On December 1, MSD Wayne Scientist in Residence Rick Crosslin will star in this annual Wayne Township treat. New additions to this

Kathryn Raasch is among 62 outstanding elementary and middle school principals from across the nation and abroad who have been named as 2018 National Distinguished Principals by the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP). Mrs. Raasch is principal of

The MSD of Wayne Township has been awarded grant funding of more than $1.2 million from the Richard M. Fairbanks Foundation to help educate students on substance abuse and improve students’ social and emotional well-being. The grant is part of

Students from Ben Davis High School and Ben Davis University High School will serve on Mayor Joe Hogsett’s Youth Leadership Council. The students will represent the interests of Indianapolis youth, providing insight and feedback for the Mayor and other city

More than 50 businesses and other organizations are providing at least four employees to spend time mentoring young readers in the MSD of Wayne Township this school year. The district honored these “Premier Partners” for the HOSTS program at a

The Indiana Department of Education has added two elementary schools and three secondary schools in the MSD of Wayne Township to its list of Indiana STEM Certified Schools. MSD Wayne now has a total of seven such schools. “A quality

Summeropolis has been a tradition at Stout Field Elementary for more than ten years. The school’s staff volunteer to plan, coordinate and facilitate all of the activities. Because Stout Field is having a new cooling tower installed this summer, Summerpolis

Ben Davis High School Principal Sandra Squire is the Indiana Association of School Principals’ 2018 High School Principal of the Year for Marion County (IASP District 7). The organization will recognize Ms. Squire at a ceremony in November. Ms. Squire

Eligible families in Marion County may now apply for grants for the 2018-19 school year through Indiana’s publicly funded preschool grant program, On My Way Pre-K. To qualify for the program, families must have an income below 127 percent of