Sandra Squire Named IASP High School Principal of the Year for Marion County

Ben Davis High School Principal Sandra Squire is the Indiana Association of School Principals’ 2018 High School Principal of the Year for Marion County (IASP District 7). The organization will recognize Ms. Squire at a ceremony in November.

Ms. Squire was nominated by Kathryn Raasch, principal at Wayne Township Preschool and current Indiana Elementary Principal of the Year.

“Sandi Squire is an incredible leader who reaches for the highest level for her students and staff,” said Mrs. Raasch in her nomination. “She has set the course for the very successful Ben Davis High School by setting up the first Early College Career Center in Indiana, creating a marketing plan for her school and working with her school community and parents to create and maintain a strategic plan.”

Mrs. Raasch noted that Ms. Squire celebrates the diversity in her building and is responsive to all scholars, from students with disabilities to those who participate in accelerated offerings.

The IASP is a not-for-profit, professional association serving more than 2,800 building-level administrators in Indiana. Its District High School Principals of the Year are elected by their peers. One principal is honored from each of the IASP’s 12 districts. From these 12 District High School Principal winners, one is chosen as the 2018 Indiana High School Principal of the Year. The state winner will be announced at the November 18 award celebration.