MSD Wayne Honors 2019 Teachers of the Year

The Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township recognized its 2019 Teachers of the Year at a ceremony May 1. The event included the announcement of this year’s district-wide Teacher of the Year, music teacher Linda Gomes of Stout Field Elementary.

“I’m humbled to receive this award,” Mrs. Gomes said. She will now be in the running for Indiana Teacher of the Year. Mrs. Gomes plans to retire at the end of this school year.

 “The dedication and love with which MSD Wayne Teacher of the Year Linda Gomes and all our educators serve our students was uniquely evident at this year’s ceremony, as our leading teachers were given the gift of testimonials from their colleagues and students,” said MSD Wayne Superintendent Jeff Butts. “Teachers at every level in Wayne are continually recognized by state and national organizations as exemplary.”

Row 1: Linda Gomes, Stout Field Elementary

Row 2: Laura Glenn, Sanders School; Samantha Hasankhani, McClelland Elementary; Melissa Ballesteros-Benavides, Ben Davis University High School; Jana Seucharan, Rhoades Elementary; Nancy Stutzman, Chapel Glen Elementary; Ericka Gray, Garden City Elementary; Karen Smith, North Wayne Elementary

Row 3: Kiley Miller, Wayne Township Preschool; Tami Parsons, Lynhurst 7th & 8th Grade Center; Gretchen Kolpien, Robey Elementary; Nate Waterfill, Chapel Hill 7th & 8th Grade Center; Isaac Cetto, Wayne Preparatory Academy; Amanda Moore, Chapelwood Elementary; Allison Kegley, Ben Davis High School; Jason Hopper, Bridgeport Elementary

Row 4: Shauna Lipscomb, Westlake Elementary; Andrew Lentz, Maplewood Elementary; Donavan White, Ben Davis Ninth Grade Center; James Totten, Achieve Virtual Education Academy