Board of Education Recognized for Exemplary Governance in Public Education

May 15, 2023

Congratulations to M.S.D. of Wayne Township Board of Education Members Brandon Bowman, Karen Burke, Shirley Deckard, Raimeka Graham, Susan Graves, Michael Nance, and Benjamin Wakefield, who each received an Exemplary Governance Award during the Indiana School Boards Association (ISBA) Region 8 Spring Meeting on May 15.

In addition to the individual accolades, the entire board earned recognition based on the collective Exemplary Governance Award status of its individual members.

The annual program recognizes school boards and board members who demonstrate an exceptional commitment to professional learning and student success.


The Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township provides multiple pathways to success for more than 16,000 students, from preschool through high school. Located on the west side of Indianapolis, MSD Wayne works in partnership with the Wayne Township community to help every learner achieve excellence. To learn more about MSD Wayne, visit, or follow us on Facebook and Twitter @WayneTwpSchools and @WayneTwpSuper.