Rhoades Elementary’s Aretha Britton Named 2022 State Elementary Principal of the Year

On Sunday, Nov. 20, the Indiana Association of School Principals (IASP) recognized Aretha Britton, Principal at Rhoades Elementary School in MSD of Wayne Township, as the 2022 State Elementary Principal of the Year.

Britton was honored at the annual IASP awards banquet, a part of the IASP’s annual Fall Professional Conference, in recognition of her distinguished leadership and extraordinary service.

Earlier this summer, Britton was chosen by her peers as one of 12 District Elementary Principals of the Year, representing District 7, including all schools in Marion County. From these 12 district winners, Britton was honored as the State Elementary School Principal of the Year and will be submitted for consideration to be the National Principal of the Year.

“Ms. Britton is a dedicated educator who is adored by the Rhoades community. Her leadership and service have positively impacted the Wayne community for more than 20 years. We are honored for her to be celebrated as the IASP Elementary Principal of the Year for 2022,” commented Judy Stegemann, assistant superintendent of elementary education.

We are incredibly proud of Ms. Britton’s accomplishment!

The Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township provides multiple pathways to success for more than 16,000 students, preschool through high school. Located on the west side of Indianapolis, MSD Wayne works in partnership with the Wayne Township community to help every learner achieve excellence. To learn more about MSD Wayne, visit www.wayne.k12.in.us, or follow us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/msdwaynetownship/ and Twitter @WayneTwpSchools and @WayneTwpSuper.